The Idea


There has been - and indeed still is - a great deal of controversy surrounding Josef Zutelgte’s “upside- down red Telge” (Telge= young oak tree). The New York artist designed the sculpture which stands in the middle of the new roundabout. So why should there now be a homepage with photos about this very subject?
In July 2006, during the construction of the “big” Telge, Heinz Spiekermann took photographs of a smaller inverted tree in various places in Telgte. Some of the photos below were shown in the Telgte Town Hall as part of an exhibition by the Ostbevern Photographic Society "Augenblick". This supplemented the discussion in Telgte about the “correct” colour and the orientation of the Telge.

My first photos of the Telge were taken at the end of October 2006 during an evening stroll around the roundabout. I tried to capture the interesting effects of the metal sculpture in the glow of the streetlamps and car headlights.

A limited (150) edition of a miniature Telge was available through the Telgte Tourist Office in January 2006. It was an exact geometrical copy of the original, produced by the firm MVK in Heek. Inspired by the film “The Fabulous Life of Amélie Poulain“, in which a stewardess photographs a garden gnome in front of various tourist attractions, I had the idea of photographing the Telge in different places.

As a combined project is more interesting than working alone, I would like to invite other owners of a “small” Telge to send me their own photos. The background is of course not limited to Telgte. Perhaps someone could take the Telge on a journey and send pictures from Münster, Berlin, New York, Hong Kong, the desert or a tropical rainforest. It would be especially interesting to know not only the name of the photographer but also the exact place and date of the picture. With the photographer’s consent, these details can appear with the photo on the home page.

Photos of the “big” Telge for the homepage are of course also very welcome.

Any comments and suggestions would be gratefully received

Michael Becks

Foto
Foto    Foto
Foto   Foto   Foto

All pictures photographed by Heinz Spiekermann, 22.07.06

Die Idee zu "Telge auf Reisen"

Es gab und gibt viele Diskussionen um die "rote und verkehrte Telge" des Künstlers Josef Zutelgte (New York) in der Mitte des neuen Kreisverkehres. Warum noch eine Homepage mit Fotos zu diesem Thema?

Schon im Juli 2006 hat Heinz Spiekermann parallel zur Errichtung der "großen" Telge einen kleinen Baum verkehrt herum an verschiedenen Stellen in Telgte fotografiert. Im Rahmen einer Ausstellung des Fotokreises Augenblick aus Ostbevern im Telgter Rathaus wurden einige der unten gezeigten Fotos präsentiert und damit die Diskussion in Telgte über die "richtige" Farbe und Orientierung der Telge ergänzt.

Meine ersten Fotos der Telge entstanden Ende Oktober 2006 bei einem nächtlichen Rundgang um den Kreisverkehr. Die interessante Wirkung des Kunstwerkes im Schein der Straßenlaternen und der Autoscheinwerfer habe ich versucht einzufangen.

Im Januar 2006 wurde eine kleine Auflage (150 Stück) einer Miniatur-Telge über die Stadttouristik vertrieben. Sie entspricht geometrisch dem großen Original und wurde von der Firma MVK aus Heek hergestellt. Inspiriert durch den Film "Die fabelhafte Welt der Amélie", in dem eine Stewardess überall auf der Welt vor den unterschiedlichsten Sehenswürdigkeiten einen Gartenzwerg fotografiert, kam mir die Idee, die "kleine" Telge in Telgte an verschiedenen Orten abzulichten. 

Und da ein gemeinsames Projekt interessanter ist, als alleine zu arbeiten, möchte ich andere Besitzer der "kleinen" Telge bitten, mir eigene Fotos zu schicken. Die Kulisse muss natürlich nicht auf Telgte beschränkt sein. Vielleicht nimmt jemand die Telge mit auf Reisen und sendet mir Bilder mit der Telge aus Münster, Berlin, New York, Hong Kong, aus der Wüste oder aus dem Regenwald. Es wäre spannend, neben dem Namen des Fotografen die genaue Ortsangabe und das Aufnahmedatum zu bekommen. Diese Fotos werde ich, Einverständnis vorausgesetzt, mit allen Angaben auf die Homepage bringen.

Aber auch Bilder von der "großen" Telge sind jederzeit willkommen und werden gerne auf die Website gebracht.

Über Anregungen und Kritik würde ich mich sehr freuen.

Michael Becks

Foto

Foto von Michael Becks

Foto
Foto    Foto
Foto   Foto   Foto

Fotos von Heinz Spiekermann, 22.07.06